Nursing graduates recognized in pinning ceremony

May 17, 2013 | Applied and Natural Sciences

800×600 Normal 0 false false false EN-US X-NONE X-NONE MicrosoftInternetExplorer4 /* Style Definitions */ table.MsoNormalTable {mso-style-name:”Table Normal”; mso-tstyle-rowband-size:0; mso-tstyle-colband-size:0; mso-style-noshow:yes; mso-style-priority:99; mso-style-parent:””; mso-padding-alt:0in 5.4pt 0in 5.4pt; mso-para-margin:0in; mso-para-margin-bottom:.0001pt; mso-pagination:widow-orphan; font-size:10.0pt; font-family:”Times New Roman”,”serif”;}

The Division of Nursing at Louisiana Tech University held its traditional pinning ceremony for the Spring 2013 graduates Friday in Howard Auditorium.

Louisiana Tech's 2013 spring quarter nursing graduates.

Louisiana Tech’s 2013 spring quarter nursing graduates.

Twenty-three graduates received their Louisiana Tech Nursing pin and will be eligible to sit for the NCLEX National licensing exam after graduation to obtain their licenses as Registered Nurses.

But before the graduates were honored, College of Applied and Natural Sciences Dean James Liberatos took time to recognize the director of the nursing program, Professor Pamela Moore, who will retire from the university on June 30. She was recognized for her more than 33 years of service to the university.

“I’m very proud to honor Pamela Moore, who has served on the Nursing Department faculty for the last 33 years, including the last 13 as the director of the department,” Liberatos said. “She’s been a very important part of the Tech nursing program for a long time and will be missed.”

Awards presented during the ceremony were as follows:

  • Outstanding Graduate – Krystal Hunt
  • Academic Excellence – Chelsea Colvin
  • Director’s Award – Ashlee Hall
  • Faculty Award – Rachel Edwards
  • Clinical Awards – Amy Mann, Katy McCalman and Chelsea Ray
  • Special Veteran Recognition – Lashun Jones
  • Student Nursing Association Award – Krystal Hunt
  • Ruston District Nurses Association Award – Katherine Colvin Ferguson and Cassandra Colvin Weaver.
Graduates receiving pins were Alanna Leigh Bennett, Angela Renee Cassels, Chelsea Ellen Colvin,  Hillary Alayne Cumpton, Rachel Eichhorn Edwards, Katherine Colvin Ferguson, Mandy Martin Ford,  Ryan Cullen Haight, Ashlee Diane Hall, Krystal Wilcher Hunt, Sady Beth Johnson, Lashun D. Keeps  Jones, Lindsay Nicole Katt, Savannah Ray Landers, Tana Jo Lloyd, Katy Marie McCalman, Marian “Fran” Parsons, Jamin Brian Rankin, Chelsea McEachern Ray, Mallory Price Rutledge, Dennis Michael Thompson II, Cassandra Colvin Weaver and Amy Mann Welch. Written by T. Scott Boatright –