Department of Agriculture honors students, faculty at annual banquet

May 2, 2014 | Applied and Natural Sciences

800×600 Normal 0 false false false EN-US X-NONE X-NONE MicrosoftInternetExplorer4 /* Style Definitions */ table.MsoNormalTable {mso-style-name:”Table Normal”; mso-tstyle-rowband-size:0; mso-tstyle-colband-size:0; mso-style-noshow:yes; mso-style-priority:99; mso-style-parent:””; mso-padding-alt:0in 5.4pt 0in 5.4pt; mso-para-margin:0in; mso-para-margin-bottom:.0001pt; mso-pagination:widow-orphan; font-size:10.0pt; font-family:”Times New Roman”,”serif”;}

Louisiana Tech University’s Department of Agriculture held its annual Scholarship and Awards Banquet recently, presenting more than $64,000 worth of scholarships to 50 continuing students and incoming freshmen.

“We’re proud of the help we are able to give to our students through scholarships, and it’s things like the annual poinsettia sale each Christmas and the livestock sales we hold that allows us to do so,” said department head Dr. Gary Kennedy.  “We have 62 incoming freshman, and those kinds of scholarships help in attracting students to the Department of Agriculture.”

The Department of Agriculture will hold a livestock sale at 1 p.m. Saturday at Tech Farm.

Nine graduating Louisiana Tech students who are headed to veterinary school were presented with stethoscopes during the banquet while 15 Agriculture Ambassadors and 10 Mascot Care Team members were also recognized.

“Our Agriculture Ambassadors help with all the events we hold, like the poinsettia and livestock sales, and they also serve as our student recruiters and other things like that,” Kennedy said.

James “Mic” Baxter, the Department of Agriculture’s Alumnus of the Year, was recognized during the banquet as was the four department members honored earlier in April during Louisiana Tech’s College of Applied and Natural Sciences Day on April 10.

Those award winners were as follows:

  • Dr. Paul Jackson, Outstanding Instruction for 100/200 Level courses;
  • Dr. Maureen Hilliard, Outstanding Instruction 300 Level Courses and Above;
  • Elizabeth Carraway, Debra L. Martin Service Award and
  • Dr. Julie Rutledge, John D. Griffin Award for Outstanding Professional Service.

 Written by T. Scott Boatright –